Posted by: Shavai | March 31, 2010

A Tale of Two Salads

I’ve been looking ALL over the place for a good chicken and tuna salad type recipe to replace the ones I always used to eat for lunch. I had purchased some Better Than Turkey Salad from Awesome Foods, but had no idea how to make it.  My sister could have probably figured it out as she is just that type of genius in the kitchen, but she lives in Maryland.

As luck would have it, I had a reaction to some Creamy Tomato Soup I made last night and while I was looking up information for nightshades I found these two recipes.  It’s interesting that I should have a reaction to nightshades now.  I was told back in my 20s (when health insurance used to cover nutritionists) I had a problem with nightshades.  I didn’t think anything about it, but did try to stay away from green peppers.

I found an amazing article on nightshades.  When I looked at the list of items that were nightshades, I was in shock.  Two of the biggest nightshade items (potatoes and tomatoes) were the main thing I loved before I went on this diet.  I always had to eat potatoes (whether baked or homemade mashed) and whenever I ordered a sandwich out, I always asked for extra tomatoes.  According to the article, nightshades (potatoes in particular) help to counteract the sodium and protein of meat.  In addition, tomatoes (both astringent and acidic) assist in the digestion and discharge of dairy products.  After looking at some of the nightshade symptoms, there is a possibility some of my current problems aren’t being helped by eating them.

Finding the two salad recipes was a Godsend.  They are very much alike, yet the differences in the nuts used make two distinctly different salads.  The chicken salad is chunkier and has more liquid to it, while the tuna is somewhat dry and reminds me of the solid Albacore I used to buy after I drained the fish juice out of the can.  After making the recipe and tasting the results, I added a couple extra ingredients to the tuna – onion salt and garlic powder.  After making the main tuna recipe, I would suggest using whatever spices you are used to adding to tuna to make it taste the same.

Before I list the recipes, I thought I would pass along the fact that this week is the first week I have not purchased organic fresh vegetables.  Unless my miracle comes this very minute, I have to shop within my budget.  Unfortunately, there is no room for expensive organic products in it at this time.  It will be interesting to see how this affects the detox symptoms I’ve been having these last couple of weeks.

My blender also has one foot in the grave.  The spindle is either too old or too small to be mixing the things I mix in it (most raw food recipes “assume” you have a Vitamix blender when they give the instructions for the recipe).  Any liquid I put in the blender has now started leaking through the spindle (not the gasket).  There is no way to fix the spindle as it is all metal.  It is too worn.   Pretty soon I won’t be able to use it at all, so I’m going to check out the blenders at the Wal-Mart and see if ANYTHING is better than the blender I now have. That’s the only place I’m going to be able to afford a blender.  I put a Vitamix on my wishlist, so if anyone would like to buy me one, please feel free. 🙂

The “Not Tuna Salad” recipe is credited to the “Living Light” student handbook.

NOT TUNA SALAD
From the “Living Light” student handbook.

1/2 Cup Almonds (Soaked for 24 hours, then rinsed and drained.)
1/2 Cup Sun Flower Seeds (Soaked for 6 hours, rinsed and drained.)
1/4 Cup Filtered Water (If necessary.)
1/4 Cup Celery (Minced)
1/4 Cup Onion (Minced)
1/4 Cup Fresh Parsley (Minced)
3 T. Fresh Lemon Juice
1 t. Kelp Powder or Dulse Flakes
1/2 t. Salt
1/2 t. Dried Dill Weed (Or 1 T. Fresh)

Put all ingredients into a food processor and process until mixture is smooth.  It should resemble the picture above.

MOCK CHICKEN SALAD
From Michelle & Lori @ http://www.pure2raw.com

1 Cup Sun Flower Seeds (Soaked)
4 Stalks of Celery
2 Scallions
Small Handful Fresh Parsley
4 T. Fresh Lemon Juice
1 T. Tahini (Secret Ingredient)
1 t. Dulse Flakes
1/2 t. Salt

Pulse in food processor until mix is in small chunks or until desired texture.  Their original recipe called for 1/3 of a black radish, but I’ve never used a radish before and don’t have any in my house.  As you can see, the recipe is very much like the one above from the student handbook.  By changing which nuts are used for a mock meat salad, you can come up with different flavors and taste experiences.

Michelle and Lori have an amazing web site.  Many of their recipes come complete with step by step pictures so you can tell you’re on the right track while making a recipe.  Be sure to stop by and have a look.

Leave a Reply

Categories

