Posted by: Shavai | March 27, 2010

The Coconut Question

To use fresh coconuts or not use fresh coconuts – that is the question.  If you live in Florida where senior residents consider them a nuisance, you’ve got it made in the shade!  They will be more than happy to let you climb up their tree, bring these wonderful little treats down and haul them off before mother nature decides to drop them from the tree branches onto someone’s head. If you live anywhere else, the coconut issue can be a problem.

When I started this raw food diet, I looked around for coconuts to no avail.  I knew they would probably have them in the Chinese market, but my sleep schedule since I started this diet has not be favorable to being out in the sun.  I’m sure there’s a good reason for this somewhere in the heavens, but I’ve learned to accept the fact and move on.  This limits my shopping to stores that stay open late or 24 hours.

The last time I went to the Kroger I was surprised to see an actual coconut sitting in amongst the produce.  I grabbed two right away without thinking – something I clearly shouldn’t do again.  The next step was to get it open, something regular Floridians accomplish with a machete.  Having a machete in my house isn’t a good idea as I’m the only one here and I have definite side affects from carpel tunnel syndrome which hinder a lot of the things I do.  I was so overjoyed at finding a coconut at 10:30 at night I forgot my physical limitations.

Tonight I finally decided to venture into the coconut.  I had watched the two wonderful Renegade Health Show videos that had information and instructions on how to work with coconuts.  Unfortunately, the one I cracked open had gray water in it, meaning it was no good.   The meat inside was hard as a rock and very little water came out of the coconut.  I had better luck with the second coconut once I got it open. I used a drill and while one of the eyes of the coconut was very easy to get through, I had a HECK of a time trying to drill the hole on the bottom of the coconut to easily release all the coconut water inside.

The two things I have learned about extracting coconut water is that drills put a whole lot of brown crud into the water that even a coffee filter won’t strain out. (The nutbag I used let a lot of big pieces through.)  The second thing I learned was there is nothing in this world like coconut water that comes out of the coconut just after you open it! It’s flavor is so amazing and robust and strangely sweet. My O.N.E. coconut water is good, but has only about 3/4 of the vibrance of the water that comes directly out of the coconut.  I can imagine the same thing is said for those vegetables you grown in your own back yard garden that go directly into your meals from the Earth.

Having finally drained (and consumed the water from) the coconut, I tried to find a way to get it open.  I drilled a couple spots along the groove someone had cut in it, but it wasn’t budging.  I gave up and went downstairs, where it opened up with just one slam against the ground.  This time, however, the break was very clean and the meat very white as opposed to what happened to the other coconut (pieces went everywhere).

I brought it back up to the kitchen and proceeded to try and get the meat out, but quite frankly brown shell grit and pieces were getting everywhere.  There is another thin shell/skin that stands between you and your coconut after you get the harder outer brown shell off.  When I went back and watched the video, I saw they recommended using a vegetable peeler to get it off.  Some of it had already come off, so in some situations I used my paring knife and in others the peeler.

After a VERY long, painstaking effort the meat was finally clean (well, as clean as coconut meat gets).  I stuffed it in a ziplock bag and tossed it in the refrigerator until I could find a recipe that uses it.  Word is that fresh coconut meat will only last a couple of days in the fridge.  If you need to save it longer than that, some have suggested you toss it in the freezer after getting it clean.  I’m going to have to go to the store tonight as I found out my Olive Oil had gone rancid (very bitter) and I’m out of lemons.  Personally, I’d much rather wait until the Kroger opens so I can get some organic Meyer lemons, but I don’t know if I can hold on another 4 or 5 hours for that.

My water level was the highest it’s been when I weighed myself today.  I was proud of that. Not really sure how it happened, but I’m happy. I can’t say whether or not I’m back to losing weight since the plateau, but I’m still going to try not to weigh myself every day. I’m spending so much time, shopping and preparing raw food I don’t have time to do anything else.

Today’s Statistics

Weight: 277.6
Fat: 59.5%
BMI: 49.1
Water: 29.5%

Responses

  1. Go to Youtube and watch the videos on opening coconuts. They have lots to watch. I bought a coconut and opened it, but it is so much work on getting the coconut out of the shell, that I probably won’t do it again. The juice was good from it though.


Leave a Reply

Categories

