Posted by: Shavai | March 26, 2010

Slipping Off The Wagon

I got really hungry Wednesday night.  I ran out of most of my supplies and prospects were not looking good.  As I was walking through the Harris Teeter (it was after midnight and the Kroger was closed) I was having trouble trying to figure out how I would get through the next few days until another income opportunity came.  Finally, I ended up at the meat isle and they had an amazing sale on steak.  There was a beautiful rib-eye for $5.99.  This is usually a $12-13 steak!  I was so hungry and I knew how quickly this steak would cook, so I gave in, bought it and took it home and ate it.  I was in heaven the rest of the evening and felt like my stomach was finally full.

You would expect that eating something so far off the raw food mark would make me sick as a dog.  It didn’t.  As a matter of fact, I felt better than I had in a really long time.  I’m sure there was probably some weight gain attached, but I’ve stopped weighing myself every day as I know I’m at a plateau and it’s not going to come off as easily as the first month’s weight did.

The next day I was searching all over for some baking rings.  I couldn’t find them anywhere.  Unfortunately, I was miles away from home and my blood sugar started dropping.  It got so bad the car started swerving a little bit and I knew I needed to get off the road. There was a Chick-a-fila around the corner and so I figured I’d get some fries to tide me over on the way home since the smoothie place was closed.  When I got the bag it was clear they had just been cooked.  They were hot and smelled great, but the minute I put one on my tongue, I could tell I’d made a big mistake.  It tasted exactly like salty, greasy cardboard!  I couldn’t believe I’d ever eaten these things. After that, it was a little easier to fully appreciate the opportunity to be on a raw food diet.  Even if I have so few recipes that I actually enjoy.

Here’s a picture of the last recipe I enjoyed.  It was a mushroom tart that required soaking the mushrooms overnight in olive oil and balsamic vinegar.  It also required the use of a dehydrator…something that I have no hope of getting any time soon.  I had read on the internet that a regular oven could be used as a dehydrator substitute if you put it on it’s lowest heat, left the door open as below and had a large oscillating fan pointed at the open door.  They prefer the heat in the oven not be allowed to go over 110°.  Since most ovens coolest temperature is 140°, the fan helps to keep the temperature from getting too high.  I’m not sure what my experience was like because out of the two thermometers I DO have, one doesn’t go below 140° and the other doesn’t go above 85°. It must have been ok, as the tart crusts came out great after an hour of dehydrating.

The finished product was MARVELOUS!  I won’t be putting up the recipe until I alter it some as when I made this recipe the amounts were a bit out of whack.  I wound up having WAY too much crust and not enough tart.  It was delicious enough though and it lasts for 2-3 days.

My next challenge?  Figure out how to either simulate a juicer or come up with $150 for a Jack LaLane juicer.  They actually sell them at Target.  Right now, that and a spiralizer are the only two things standing in my way of recipe freedom.  I’m happily back eating raw foods again, but I can’t really claim to be a raw foodist.  The memory of that steak will always be in the back of my mind.

Leave a Reply

Categories

