Posted by: Shavai | March 24, 2010

Getting Into The Groove

It’s been a week since I last posted.  I’ve been having some wonderful experiences (yes, that is sarcasm) on this raw food diet.  I bought some wooden spoons from the Wal-Mart.  While I washed them well before using them, I had the opportunity to lick something off one of them with my tongue and had the most distasteful experience of my life!  It tasted like I had just licked formaldehyde.  I got light-headed, then got a headache and was out of it for the rest of the day.

Most people might think that being poisoned by pine nuts and wooden spoons would be enough to make them stop doing whatever was causing these bad events.  The allergic breakouts would be enough for me normally.  That type of detox is it’s own little hell. They say that anything worth doing is worth doing right though.  So I’m going to stick to raw food.

I’ve been living off the Alfredo sauce and celery root I fixed in my last blog.  For a whole week.  On one hand, that makes me very happy. On the other, I REALLY have to fix the flavors in that sauce as they are WAY too intense.  If it weren’t for the bland nature of the celery root, I wouldn’t be able to eat the rest of the sauce up.

I’ve been eating my smoothies in the morning, the Alfredo for lunch/dinner (because my sleep cycle is still that messed up) and whatever I can find for my third meal.  A couple of days, I had the avocado soup, which is REALLY good comfort food.  The other days, I ate a large romaine leaf with sliced tomato and either some of the mock turkey salad or the mock egg salad I picked up at the Heritage.

I spent all day yesterday browsing through recipes on the web for new things to eat and coming up blank.  So many of what people are calling “raw” recipes use some type of flour or oat mix.  I didn’t think those items were included in a raw diet.  I don’t know why I should be surprised. I sit here eating my spelt crackers when I get hungry (which reminds me, I DID eat a can of organic lentil soup this week when I was SOOO hungry I though I was going to croak if I didn’t get some real food in my stomach). Yet the idea of going to the store and buying pre-made meal or flour seems like cheating to me.  Perhaps it’s my body trying to tell me I shouldn’t be making recipes that include those types of things in them.

I tried to look for other dessert type recipes as well.  Everything that I want to try seems to have a half cup of agave in it.  That seems to defeat the purpose of going on a raw diet to me.  I know agave syrup is pretty high on the glycemic index, only because they’ve have multiple discussions about it on The Renegade Health Show. There seem to be a lot of other recipes that need coconut milk, coconut butter and coconut meat – three things I haven’t seen during my travels to the store.  I’m also betting they are expensive if they are that hard to find.

I actually found some mature coconuts at the Kroger last night!  I was really psyched to use them, but by the time I got home it was midnight and trying to get a coconut open is a little too noisy for that time of night.  I ended up buying a can of organic coconut milk and made a pie from someone’s blog that was horribly too sweet – but where do you go once you’ve mixed it all?  I tried a couple of things, but realized I was going to have to make a completely different setup – perhaps using the basis of my lemon cream mousse which only requires 1 tablespoon of honey.  It seems like every recipe needs fixing or recalibrating or just plain changing.

I can honestly say I don’t know how I’m going to make it from here on in as in a couple of weeks I’ll get paid my one monthly pay check and have to figure out how to stretch that across another four weeks.  When I look back at my receipts from the previous month it seems unthinkable.  I’m going to cross my fingers and pray.

Leave a Reply

Categories

