Posted by: Shavai | March 17, 2010

Raw Food Hands

One of the least favorite things about going on a raw food diet (at least to me) is what it does to your hands. I finally realized today that the reason my hands turned brown the last time was from pulling the Thyme leaves off the stalk (well, actually the fingers I used to do so). After preparing my latest dish, my hands were not only dark brown, but mud brown as well.

It may look a little disgusting, but what you are looking at is raw Fettucine Alfredo.  I used a recipe from a highly skilled chef (way out of my league) which looked simple. It is a simple recipe, but unless you’ve got the right tools it can take a little while to prepare.  I’m not going to share the recipe just yet, because I’m not really happy with the way the flavors evolved.  This recipe is WAY too intense for me.  I LOVE Fettucine Alfredo, but with this recipe the flavors felt like the were smacking me in the face with their intensity – not the experience I was looking for.  I’d like a comfort-food tasting Fettucine Alfredo I can be proud of, so I’m going to experiment with some different textures and possibly some different Alfredo recipes and see if I can come up with one more friendly to my palate.

I will say my favorite thing about this recipe is the choice of celery root for the noodles.  It complimented the sauce fantastically!  The sauce tastes like a sharper, stronger cheese than what is used on regular Alfredo, which I think is from the nutritional yeast and black pepper in the recipe.

The unfortunate part of this recipe was I could not find an “organic” celery root so I just went mainstream.  When I tried to clean it up before the julienne, what looked like red clay came off all over my hands.  They look like I’ve been playing in red Georgia clay even after washing again and again, sanding off the browner parts with a nail file and constantly soaking them with hand lotion.  My right thumbnail looks dirty from stripping the leaves of the thyme stalk.  I’m beginning to wonder if fresh thyme is worth it.

The other thing I’ve noticed over the past few days is my hunger thing seems to be broken.  I have to almost force myself to eat.  The day before last I never got hungry enough.  Yesterday, I kept waiting until the Alfredo was done, eating a strawberry here, a romaine leaf there.  Food was minimal between my breakfast smoothie and dinner.

I know this type of eating doesn’t help my weight loss.  When I got on the scale this morning and wound up with .2 back on my weight, I realized I really needed to stop weighing myself every day and I needed to make sure I eat all the time.  I have also been taking an anti-histamine, which shouldn’t be a part of the problem because it was a plain one – no decongestant.  I’m trying to eat as often as I can today, but if I don’t see any change I’m going to have to reconsider what I’m doing with my diet. While eating raw is healthy, I need weight loss to be a part of the equation.  I’ve stayed away from those components (like orange juice and canola oil) that sabotage weight loss efforts.  Perhaps the second-hand cigarette smoke that has started to come back into my apartment if affecting it.  I guess only time will tell.

Leave a Reply

Categories

