Posted by: Shavai | March 16, 2010

The Ups and Downs of Raw

I’m still on a flipped sleep schedule, going to bed at 10-11a.m. and waking up sometime after dinnertime.  Switching over to daylight time hasn’t helped any.  I’m really craving a steak now, which is odd to me as habits are supposed to be locked in place after 21 days. I should be over the whole meat thing.  I suppose it could be in direct relation to not getting enough protein, but the night before last I was starting to wonder if I had created a nut allergy by eating so many.  Nuts weren’t a big part of my life before.  I would frequently have three almonds in the morning, but that was it.

Yesterday I was exhausted and colder than I remember feeling in the winter. Someone has started smoking inside again as when I went to wash my face and brush my teeth before bed I walked into a room full of cigarette smoke when entering the bathroom.  I don’t know if it was from the apartment downstairs next to the one under me or the one under me.  I haven’t been bombarded with smoke in a while. It must have been going on for the last couple of days though as I’ve been coughing up a lot when I wake up in the morning.

I’ve often wondered why my body keeps flipping to a night existence instead of the traditional day one.  As I lay in my bed drifting off to sleep this morning, I realized it may have to do with that very thing.  In my bedroom, I’m relatively safe from drifting cigarette smoke. I’m also impervious to the loud sounds of the Navy jets doing non-stop touch-n-goes over my head.  Perhaps sleep is the only way to deal with it? Being awake at night while all these factors are absent seems to be it’s own Godsend.

I was also a little upset about the weight gain of .2 lbs. from the day before.  When I got on the scale, it said I had lost .2 lbs., but my fat percentage had gone up (the mango mousse I tried to make?) and my water percentage had gone down.  It was something to think about.  Every time I eat the mousse, regardless of what I use in it, I either don’t lose weight or my fat content goes up.  All this for one tablespoon of flax oil?  I thought flax oil was supposed to be good for you.  I used lucuma powder the last time, so I can’t blame it on the honey.  I use the dehydrated coconut in my smoothies, which includes its own oil and I lose weight every day for the most part.  I haven’t figured out that equation, but I have promised myself to finish reading some of the eBooks I have on diet and raw to see if I can find the answers.

Today I am still a little tired, but not as bad as the last two.  I’m still a bit itchy…I’ll have to wait and see if another allergy pill is required.  I am happy that I’ve lost another pound.  This time it looks real as my water percentage has gone up and both my fat and BMI have gone down.  Interesting result for a day I did not do cardio.

Yesterday I had my morning smoothie, a Better Than Turkey Salad wrap with tomato and a romaine leaf used for the wrap and an apple dessert raw recipe I made that I was a little disappointed in (picture and recipe below).  Even after several modifications to lighten up the original recipe it wound up tasting just like a Sara Lee Apple Cinnamon danish or a coffee cake. It was basically half apples, half dates, with some chopped walnuts and macadamias (there were other ingredients, but they were minimal).

It seems a lot of these raw dessert recipes on the web are on the heavier side instead of the light, fluffy mousse I make (and yet it’s the one that always gets me in trouble). How so many dates make a person lose a pound of real weight, I don’t understand. Clearly I need to investigate more regarding how different raw foods affect your body.  In the mean time, I’m gong to dream about steak.  Man cannot live by dates and apples alone.

Today’s Statistics

Weight: 279.0
Fat %: 64.1
BMI: 49.4
Water %: 26.2

Raw Apple Crumble

APPLE COFFEE CAKE

1 Organic Golden Delicious Apple Cut Into Chunks
1 Organic Golden Delicious Apple Thinly Sliced
12 Organic Medjool Dates (Or more if you like prefer a sweeter crumble.)
1 tsp. Organic Cinnamon
Juice from Half An Organic Lemon
1/4 tsp. Organic Ground Nutmeg
1/2 tsp. Himalayan Salt (1/4 tsp. 2x)
Filtered water IF needed.
4 oz. Organic Raw Walnuts (Soaking optional.)
8-10 Organic Raw Macadamia Nuts (Soaking optional.)

Put nuts and 1/4 teaspoon of salt in a food processor.  Process until nuts are finely ground.  Put dates on a chopping board and carefully de-pit them, ensuring no hard pieces of the pit are left behind.  Cut each date in half. Spread out the halves from the six (6) dates across the top of the nut mixture and process until you have an evenly mixed crumble topping.  Take a little taste to ensure it is sweet enough for your liking.  If not, add pitted date halves and reprocess until it is.  Set aside.

Put chopped apple, remaining dates, cinnamon, nutmeg, lemon juice and 1/4 teaspoon salt into food processor and blend. Dribble water very judiciously through the water addition hole in your food processor top if your mix is still clumping.  Your mix will be thick.  Put mixture into a bowl.  Cut second apple into very thin slices and fold into the mix in you just created.  (Apples turn brown quickly, so I prefer to chop them up right before using them.)

Spread filling mixture evenly over the bottom of a regular-sized, shallow glass pie pan (or several small glass desert cups).  Sprinkle crumble mixture evenly over the top of the apple/date mixture.  Put in refrigerator for an hour or so to let flavors settle before serving.

NOTES: I chose not to soak my nuts as I was hoping for a “crunchier” topping. Typically when I soak nuts and grind them, they turn into mush, but the option to soak your nuts for an hour or two is completely up to you.  My only comment would be soaking does remove some of the oil from the nuts. I don’t know if that will make a difference in the final flavors.

The nut amounts aren’t exact as I just used what was left of my walnuts and macadamia nuts. It looked like there was 1/4 left of a 16 oz. bag of walnuts left and 8-10 macadamia nuts left in the container.

Leave a Reply

Categories

