Posted by: Shavai | March 4, 2010

Lemon Cream Mousse

OMG!!!  I just adapted this recipe off the “Raw Sacramento” raw food web site and almost died and went to heaven.  I can’t believe this is raw food!

Lemon Cream Mousse

1 Medium to Large-Sized Peeled Banana
3 Tbsp. Awesome Foods Raw Coconut Spread
1 Tbsp. Organic Canola Oil
1 Tbsp. Honey (Or whatever you prefer to sweeten with.)
Juice and Pulp from 1/2 an Organic Lemon

Optional: Your favorite nut ground up in a coffee grinder and sprinkled on top.

Put all ingredients in a food processor.  Add the lemon juice last and put any pulp remaining on the hand juicer in along with it.  Mix until all items are blended well. Serve and eat immediately.  I only say this because I noticed when you first eat it the flavor of the tart lemon is highlighted, but after it sits awhile (as I was writing in my blog) the banana becomes the more prominent flavor.  I don’t know if more lemon juice would help counteract that, but this group of measurements made the fluffiest pudding I’ve ever eaten.  It was like eating a mousse.

Due to it’s rich flavor, I believe it makes enough for two people (you can probably get away with half the amount of honey if you don’t like sweet flavors).  The results fit in a dessert bowl nicely, so if you have some smaller dessert bowls you could split it up into two servings.

If you are a newbie to cooking like I am, I placed the coconut on the bottom of the right side of the food processor and broken up banana on the left side.  I put all the liquids on top and then mixed.  Since my blender is a tragedy, I don’t know if it would turn out with the same fluffiness in a blender, which is why I used my food processor. It was easier to scoop out of the food processor with a spatula than it would have been my blender.  Food processor or blender is a personal decision.

The ingredients on the Raw Coconut Spread say it’s just Raw Organic Dehydrated Coconut.  It’s hard like a brick, unless you keep it at room temperature (which it recommends on the package), so I don’t know if regular organic dried coconut would be just as good (I’m still a newbie at this).  The original recipe called for flax seed oil and the juice from only 1/4 of an organic lemon, but I felt I should put what I used just in case that made a difference in the taste.  My whole body feels alive now.

All Recipes – Copyright © 2010 All Rights Reserved – “Your Momma Said So” Productions
Leave a Reply

Categories

