Posted by: Shavai | March 1, 2010

Playing Around With Food

I took my first real step into the online world of raw yesterday. I was looking for a recipe for salad dressing with the ingredients I had purchased at the store.  What I found was I still had quite the inept kitchen. Every recipe I found called for something I didn’t have. At the top of the list – fresh organic lemons.  It seems almost everything is made with fresh organic lemons.  Next on the missing list – garlic.  Then there was the never-ending list of herbs I’ve never had in my kitchen before.  Things like dill and almost everything else.

I was surprised that even after all my looking and searching, I couldn’t find a salad dressing recipe that had cashew nut butter/spread or avocado in it’s base. After visiting a non-raw site (just vegan), I was able to come upon something that at the very least had cashew nut butter in it.  It also specified miso and soy, but since my butter already had that in it, I ignored adding it.  I added the 2 teaspoons of oil it called for, but since I had no herbs I just used the Ms. Dash table blend.  It had a bunch of herbs in it and no salt, so I figured it would be ok.  It wasn’t organic, but anything in a pinch.

I didn’t have any agave as the recipe called for.  I used honey instead, again not organic.  Since there were so many things I didn’t have, I just shredded 3 or 4 frozen strawberries into it and added as much of my Awesome Foods Raw Coconut Spread as seemed appropriate (a couple of tablespoons that I could hack off the bar and crush up).  Since the recipe called for water as well, I used filtered water to thin the mixture enough to be used as a dressing.  I was surprised it turned out ok.  I’m sure I could have made it taste good with something less sugary, but I’m too new to the diet and have never seen or heard of half the ingredients people are talking about in their recipes (which is why I’m using brand names – I’m not sure if someone else makes the same type of thing).

I will say, after I ate the salad (nothing but fresh romaine and tomato with the dressing), I had the worst dehydration ever!  I’m not sure if this is a result of eating something with both miso and soy in it or what.  My feet and ankles started swelling badly, I couldn’t keep my mouth hydrated – it was like I had taken 20 Claritin-D’s (the over-the-counter  type).  The fact that I was able to wake up (after not going to bed until 10:00AM this morning) with any type of weight loss amazes me.  Hopefully, we’ll find out what triggered it as I plan to go out tonight and buy a normal bottle of organic salad dressing that I’ve used before with no swelling.  If there is no swelling, the cashew butter with it’s miso and soy will go in the trash.

Here is what I concocted this morning.  It tasted pretty good – I liked the little crunchy/chewy bits from the raw coconut spread.  I used celery and cinnamon specifically for my hypoglycemia.

MORNING SMOOTHIE – 001

1 Banana
8 Organic Frozen Strawberries (Medium to Small Sized)
4 Big Leaves Romaine Lettuce
2 Celery Stalks
1/2 cup Organic Frozen Blueberries
Couple of small chunks of Awesome Foods Raw Coconut Spread
8 oz. Coconut Water
1.5 oz (Shotglass) of Liquid Aloe Supplement
Ground Cinnamon

Blend banana, strawberries, lettuce, celery, blueberries and coconut water until well mixed.  If blender is getting stuck, pour more coconut water in until it will mix without harming the motor on your blender.  Add two or three chunks of Awesome Foods Raw Coconut Spread (or something similar).  Blend until the chunks are gone.  Pour half the mix into a 32oz cup.  Add one shot glass of Aloe liquid supplement.  Mix well with non-metallic spoon.  Pour rest of smoothie into cup.  Sprinkle the top with cinnamon. Mix well with non-metallic spoon. Enjoy!

Recipe Copyright © 2010 All Rights Reserved – “Your Momma Said So” Productions

Weight: 291.4
Fat %: 60.9
BMI: 51.6
Water %: 28.5

I’m starting to think the other statistics on the scale mean nothing.  I’ve gone up in fat content, down in body mass and down in water. If there was ever a good reason not to weigh yourself every day, this is surely one good one.

Leave a Reply

Categories

