Posted by: Shavai | February 26, 2010

The Beginning

I’m a major meat eater.  I like steak.  My father was a meat manager for a local grocery chain when I was growing up.  Every night he brought home the best cuts of beef that while being expired according to store standards, were still good to eat.  I grew up eating some amazing beef.

When I was 20, I wiggled my way into a Fortune 500 company. Breakfast, lunch and dinner became the quickest stop at a fast-food window I could find.  After marriage, giving birth, divorce, the loss of my father and surgery I wound up disabled with Chronic Fatigue Syndrome.  My advice? Don’t believe you can burn the candle at both ends forever. Morbid obesity became a constant companion and it wasn’t until present day 13 years later I felt I could really get a handle on it.  I think I can lose 170 pounds.  I’m going to give it my best try at any rate.

I don’t know the first thing about raw foods, other than you eat raw foods – fruits, vegetables, anything that grows and for the most part is not cooked.  (There is some guideline about 140° cooking, but that kind of defeats the purpose for me.)  I AM, however, going to give this a try – newbie and all.  I tried to read the Sun Foods book by David Wolfe when I finally started receiving disability income back in the late ’90s. I had hoped something good would come of it.  I just couldn’t get it all wrapped up in a pretty pink bow at the time.  It was confusing.

After a year of more weight gain and realizing I was eating nothing but crap, I have decided being on a raw food diet has to be better than my current path, whether I got all the pieces put together or not.  I am on the road to raw.  All I have at my side currently are a bunch of YouTube videos by people who have done it successfully and some Brad Yates EFT videos, which I hope will keep me on the right track.  I don’t know where the road will take me or if I will even arrive, but I plan on having fun every day of my travels.

Leave a Reply

Categories

